Flying the Nest – Goodbye Children…

Nobody told me that the hard part about parenting is when they are 18 and move out.

It’s so hard.

You no longer make any of their decisions for them.  Even though the last 18 years you were making all of them.

Worse than the fact that they don’t need you, you feel forgotten about.  Did I matter?  I gave my life to raising these children and making sure they had everything the last 18 years.  Do they remember?

They seem to not have any attachment to you and aren’t sad at all that they don’t see you every day.  In fact, it’s hard to convince them to carve any time out to visit with you and even if they do, it’s seems like it only happens when you’re buying them something or shelling out money for an expensive meal or entertainment.  And I was close with my kids.  We always had a good relationship.  I can’t imagine if there was a rocky relationship to start with.

It hurts.  It’s lonely.

There is a huge adjustment period for the parents, yet we weren’t given time or warning that things were going to change so drastically and so quickly.

We used to talk every day.  In fact the kids always would fight to come into bed with me and have one-on-one time at the end of the day.  Taking turns and booting each other out.

Now weeks go by and if I didn’t text or call, I don’t know when I would hear from my girls next.

I’m told this is how I know I did my job.  They are confident and independent and ready to fly.  But why did it have to go so fast?

Anyone else out there experience this?

Leave a Reply

