Valentine’s Accordian Card

This is one of the cutest things I have come across. Although it takes some time to do, it is totally worth it. I can’t wait to send these to my niece and nephews. You can use as many different prints of paper, stickers and embellishments that you want.  Here are the materials that I used per card:

3 pieces of cardstock 8″ x 8″

2 piece of cardstock 4.5″ x 4.5″

5 different colors/prints of scrapbook paper cut into 4″ x 4″ squares and then some cut diagonally from there into triangles ( I had 2 squares and 12 triangles)

assorted stickers and embellishments

Photos that will be cut/cropped to fit into a 4″ x 4″ space

Ribbon to tie around the card

Name tag to secure to front

Glue, Mounting squares, scissors, paper cutter

 

You may be able to find 8×8 and 4×4 cardstock and paper, but I cut mine down to size as my first step.

IMG_0021

Fold the 8×8 cardstock in half lengthwise and then unfold.

IMG_0022

Then fold the cardstock in half width wise and unfold.

IMG_0025

Then fold the cardstock diagonally one way and unfold. Do not fold it diagonally again. Do this to all 3 of the 8×8 cardstock pieces.

IMG_0029

Yes, I switched colors of the paper I was using since I thought it would be easier to understand with different colors. Also, I took random pictures and didn’t think about it. 🙂

Match up the corners of 2 of the 8×8 cardstock pieces and glue down. Grab the 3rd piece and glue it to the other side corner. Now you have your full accordion card ready to decorate.

Fold it up and make sure everything is secure. The first two points that are green fold inward or towards you and the middle points fold outward or away from you.

 

20160131_161029

Glue the 4×4 squares one on each end and then the triangles alternating patterns all over the card. I ended up leaving on the two square spaces in the middle of the card blank so I could put a photo in that spot.

20160131_173213

After gluing down the square and triangle shaped papers inside the card, glue the 4.5″ cardstock squares to the outside of the card to cover the ends. Now you can decorate with stickers and embellishments.  I will leave a couple of spots without stickers, etc. so I can write a message inside too.

20160208_110242

Secure the card with ribbon tied into a bow after you are finished. I even added a name tag to it since I am making 3 and sending them in the same package.  You can decorate the name tag all fancy too.

20160208_110504

They are so adorable! Here is another finished card I did.

20160208_110537

I got this idea from the video below.

 

Leave a Reply

