Seared Salmon with Quinoa, Amaranth & Millet Cakes

I have this delicious Quinoa mix from Costco that has Amaranth and Millet in it. Gluten free and so tasty with the nuttiness and texture. This time I am cooking it in a rice cooker to see how that works.  Either way it is twice the water to the amount of quinoa mix you want to cook. On the stove you bring it to a boil, then turn down the heat to a simmer, cover and cook for about 15 minutes. Remove from burner and fluff with a fork.

For the Salmon I will season it with salt, pepper, garlic and tarragon (my favorite seasoning combo for chicken and salmon). I usually use garlic powder but tonight I am using minced garlic just to give it a little more uummph.

20151117_173032

Season up the salmon and put it onto a hot pan with olive oil (I used lemon olive oil and it gave it a real nice taste) and sear until brown. Flip it over until the other side is brown and it firms up a bit and then remove it from the heat and set it on a plate.

20151117_173617

Cover with tin foil (aluminum, whatever) to keep the heat in and keep it juicy while the patties get going.

I originally wanted to make these quinoa patties with zucchini but I forgot to pick it up at the store and I am not making another trip. So, this round I’ve decided to use match stick carrots that I had in the fridge. Next time zucchini. Hmm, also I will be using Irish dubliner cheese instead of parmesan for the same reason, however, it has a nice salty flavor so I bet it will be delish!

20151117_173611

I have a family of six so most people probably only need 1/2 the recipe. But, for the 6 of us large appetite peeps you will need 2 cups of quinoa mix, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup of match stick carrots, salt & pepper, garlic, 1 cup of grated cheese of your choice. This would probably be pretty good with goat cheese too! Yum. I’m a major fan of ALL cheese.  Saute chopped onion and carrots until tender. Mix with cooked quinoa mix, eggs, cheese and seasonings.

Make patties and place in an oiled hot pan.  Cook until brown on each side and top with a bit of sour cream.

I’ve decided to slice up some asparagus, mushrooms, and onion for a side dish. I cut the sweet onion thinly and the asparagus at a slant; chop up mushrooms too.

I put the asparagus in a bowl and cover with water and cook in microwave for 3 minutes so it is firm but tender. Drain. Saute up the onion and mushrooms and after you get a good carmelization on them throw the asparagus in and saute for a couple more minutes.

20151117_173624

Plate all three items and enjoy!

20151117_175413

The next morning I had leftovers and made a savory dish with a fried egg on top. YUM.

20151118_081919

At lunch I made some more quinoa patties but with goat cheese and sundried tomatoes and had it with a salad. Make sure to use 2 eggs, I tried to use 1 at lunch and it just wasn’t enough to hold the patty together.

20151118_120950

For sure one my favorites now.

 

Leave a Reply

