Celiac Disease – A New Lifestyle

It’s been 12 days since I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease. It is a relief to finally know what is wrong with me and also depressing to know that I have another autoimmune disorder.  I have been gluten-free since the moment the doctor told me the results and within a week I felt so much better. After 12 days, I feel a thousand times better than I have in years. My hope is to alter all of my favorite recipes to suit my new lifestyle and have them look and taste delicious.

This particular disease is pretty overwhelming since I have to change my toothpaste, lotion, make-up, soap, shampoo, etc. just to make sure I am GLUTEN-FREE. This is much more serious than even an allergy and it’s hard to learn and remember all of the things I need to be aware of.

The good news is that the breast rash that I was concerned about is most likely from my body reacting to gluten. No cancer found in my biopsy.

2 days after I started my gluten-free diet I also starting training with my friend, S at an MMA gym. I feel fantastic. This way of eating is sooo much better. I’m not in pain, bloated and looking like I’m 9 months pregnant, and endless other problems. Working out feels good. I haven’t had the strength or energy to work out in such a long time. I’ve lost 7 pounds so far and hopefully it will continue.

Leave a Reply

