What is Cushing’s Disease anyway?

Cushing’s truly is the disease that keeps on giving. Just when you think you’ve gotten away it just drags you back. It is definitely a slow recovery and I am hopeful that someday I will fully recover from Cushing’s disease and be a healthy woman again.

For those that are not familiar, Cushing’s disease (in my case) is when a tumor is growing on your pituitary gland and it is a hormone secreting tumor. My tumor was the size of an eraser on a pencil. Luckily my tumor was removed on February 7, 2013 and I have been in remission ever since. They went up through my nose to do this brain surgery, which is still just amazing to me.

This little pain causes a great deal of havoc on your body and can be fatal if left untreated. I had no answers for about five years and doctors kept telling me to move more and eat less if I wanted to stop gaining weight. However, the weight gain was caused from an overproduction of cortisol in my body that was released from this tumor. I even had weekends where I gained 10 pounds in just 3 days. You see, cortisol is released in your body during times of stress. This little bugger was releasing cortisol at all times, including when I was sleeping, and even more was released during times of stress.

This tumor also caused pre-diabetes, blurry long distance vision, acne all over my chest, back and body, greasy, oily hair that I had to wash sometimes twice a day, extremely curly out of control hair, when I previously had straight hair, uncontrollable rage and anger, feeling like everyone was mean and vicious, no one understood me, and hypertension. This gem also caused extreme weight gain focused on my waist most of all, a moon face (I hate that term), which is just a really round face and there is no definition, a buffalo hump (also hate that description) which is a large bubbly fat pad between my neck and shoulder blades, yellow in the whites of my eyes. I was also easily bruised, had a slow healing of cuts and infections, and growth of facial hair. That is just to name a handful of the ailments caused by Cushing’s disease.

Leave a Reply

